Delhi is an indeed historical city with record of early settlement in 6th century BC and being called Delhi from about 8th century AD

There are also many interesting stories about origin of the name Delhi. Some historians say that Delhi comes from  Dhillu or Dilu, a king who ruled this city in 50 BCE , while others say that the name of the city is based on the word dhili (loose) and that it was used by Tomaras rulers to refer to the city as iron pillar of Delhi had to be shifted due to weak foundation.According to some history notes the name of the city at the time of King Prithviraj was dilpat,  dilpat and dilli are meant eminence in hindi.

It’s current landmarks and historical ruins a testament to various settlements and rules that have prevailed though centuries.Following are the cities that were established in Delhi Region by different rulers-

  1. Lal Kot / Qila Rai Pithora near Mehrauli) – was set us by Tomaras dynasty rulers  Delhi – a fortified city in Mehrauli region was built by Anangpal Tomar II, to halt the raids by Mahmud of Ghazni in 8th century. Prithviraj Chauhan, ruled this in twelfth century before loosing it in 2nd Battle of Tarain in late 12th century , to the Slave dynasty. The remains are spread across South Delhi’s Vasant Kunj, Kishangarh and Mehrauli areas
  2. Mehrauli – Qutubuddin Aibak was Delhi’s Sultan in early 13th century.It can be termed as start of islamic influence on Delhi for centuries to come. Qutab Minar -the world tallest brick minaret is still standing here testament to this city
  3. Siri Fort & Haus Khas – This city was established by Khillji tribe in late 13th century from Afghanistan. Huaz khas lake and ruins can still be appreciated today for its architecture
  4. Tughlaqabad– This City was set up by Mohammed bin Tughlaq  – a tyrant ruler in early 14th century.Serval ruins and building for that era survive even today to see. This is in south of Siri Fort & Haus Khas
  5. Firozabad – was built by Firoze Tughlaq (son of Mohammed bin Tughlaq) in middle of 14th century next to the river Yamuna. Famous Cricket stadium “Feroze Shah Kotla” stands in this part of city. Tughlak Dynasty was followed by Sayyid & Lodhi* Dynasty which ruled Delhi Sultanate.( *- Tombs of Lodhi rulers can still be seen in Lodhi Garden)
  6. Shergarh – was was built by Sher shah in 16th century. Old Fort ( Purana Killa) still stands near Paragati Maidan. The city was lost to Humayun (Mughal King) whose tomb (first grand building of mughal empire) is built in this area.
  7. Shahjanabad /Old Delhi – Shahjahan, maker of Taj Mahal made this City in 17th century with Red fort at its centre and is most popular heritage part of Delhi. Red fort, Jama Masjid and Chandni Chowk are part of this city and still busy area of the city.
  8. New Delhi – Britishers who ruled India for 2 centuries shifted capital to Delhi from Calcutta in 1911 and started building New Delhi in 1927, Presidents House, Parliament, India gate are all part of Lutyen’s* Delhi. * – British architect who designed New Delhi.

Interested in more history, facts and hidden gems of Delhi ?

Book an immersive experience of Delhi with GoTravi.